John J. Heflin III

Mr. Heflin engages principally in the resolution of complex commercial disputes, whether by negotiation, litigation, arbitration, or mediation. He has litigated substantial claims involving breach of contract, insurance, intellectual property, misappropriation of trade secrets, securities, defamation and trade libel, construction, environmental, ERISA, employment disputes, professional liability claims, and disputes arising out of the purchase, sale or dissolution of businesses. Mr. Heflin has over 30 years experience preparing and trying bench and jury trials in both state and federal trial courts and in briefing and arguing appeals before state and federal appellate courts. Mr. Heflin is a member of the mediation panel for the United States District Court for the Western District of Tennessee and is frequently retained by other lawyers to mediate business disputes. Mr. Heflin chairs the Firm’s litigation practice.

Representative Reported Cases
Cordova the Town Homeowners Association, Inc. v. Gill Development Company, Inc., 2008 Tenn.App. Lexis 522 (2008)

Staple Cotton Co-op. Assoc. v. D.G. and G., Inc., 503 F.Supp.2d 1217 (E.D. Mo. 2007)

Simpson Strong-Tie Co., Inc. v. Stewart, Estes & Donnell, 232 S.W.3d 18 (Tenn. 2007)

May v. Scott, 388 F.Supp.2d 828, 2005 WL 2249744, 36 Employee Benefits Cas. 2179 (W.D. Tenn. 2005)

May v. National Bank of Commerce, 230 F.R.D. 505, 2005 WL 2249745 (W.D. Tenn.2005)

Hill v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, 327 F.Supp.2d 886 (E.D. Tenn. 2004)

Neely v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, 326 F.Supp.2d 871 (E.D. Tenn. 2004)

Terry v. Community Bank of Northern Virginia, 255 F.Supp.2d 811, 817 (W.D. Tenn. 2003)

Carswell v. Raytheon Employees Disability Trust, 142 F.Supp.2d 939 (E.D. Tenn. 2001)

Holmes v. FSR/Tennessee Affordable Housing, 100 F.Supp.2d 804 (W.D. Tenn. 2000)

Pearson v. Exxon Corp., 234 F.3d 1269 (6th Cir. 2000)

Church and Community
Second Presbyterian Church
Calvary Episcopal Church
Vestry in early 1990's
Downtown Memphis Rotary Club, 1984 to present
Past Chairman (several terms), Constitution and By-Laws Committee